Koen about .Net

May 2, 2011

DevDays 2011 Day 2

Filed under: Conferences — Tags: — koenwillemse @ 21:01

Today was the second and last day of the DevDays. I’ve been attending some diverse sessions which I wanted to write something about.

A Developer’s Tour Around Expression Blend – by Mike Taulty

I haven’t had much time lately to do anything with Silverlight unfortunately, so I thought this would be a good opportunity to get a refreshed on it. I became clear that you can do a lot more with Expression Blend then I thought. Mike made it clear that it is not just a tool for designers, but that there are parts that are very useful for a developer too. One thing became clear during the session and that’s that you need a high resolution screen when working with Blend, which was unfortunately not the case with the beamer Winking smile. Especially working with resources and animations is way easier with Blend then with Visual Studio, so I’ll definitely give it a try when I’m going to do some Silverlight work again.

Silverlight vs. HTML5: An Apples-to-Apples Comparision – by Jeff Prosise

I thought this would be an interesting talk with the noise around HTML 5 and the browser plugins. What became clear in the talk is talk HTML 5 can do pretty much, but that it’s still a matter of how browser implement specific stuff, even when they follow the HTML 5 specification. What Jeff unfortunately did not talk about was the usage from developers perspective and especially the scenario of a Business Application. I believe that Silverlight has a very big potential in LOB application, so it was kind of a bummer that this was not talked about. One thing I was not very aware of is the power of SVG, which Jeff showed a it of. I guess this can be helpful, so one more thing to check out.

Windows Azure AppFabric Access Control Service: Deep Dive – by Vittorio Bertocci

Since I’ve been working several months on identity related stuff I wanted to attend a session from Vittorio about claims based authentication. I heard a bit about ACS so this looked like a good session to attend. It was a very interesting session and ACS delivers a very interesting set of functionality. I’ve been working on a web shop application lately and I wanted to use at least Live Id to authenticate and maybe others like Google and Facebook also. The functionality of ACS looks exactly as what I want, however,I’m not sure about the costs. At least it’s something that’s very interesting, so I’ll definitely check it out.

Introduction to Razor – by Alex Thissen

I will definitely do some work on an ASP.NET MVC 3 project and I will use Razor as view engine, so this was another session which could be interesting. The basics were already known because of blogs I read from Scott Guthrie etc. The information about templates was interesting, so I’ll definitely check that out. At the en Alex mentioned WebPages as the base for pages with Razor shortly, but unfortunately for me it was not clear what he wanted to point out, so I’ll have to dig into that myself.

Overall the DevDays were very interesting. There were several very good speakers, so that was great. At some points the location seems a bit small for the vast amount of developers attending, so maybe a larger location would be better next year. I have a few nice days again, so I hope I can attend the DevDays next year again.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

